spiegeltunnel (Mirror Tunnel)


Páll Ragnar Pálsson *1977  -  
Spiegeltunnel (2015)
Viktor Orri Árnason *1986  -  Hljóðprufa (2012)
Daníel Bjarnason *1979  -  Bow to String (2008)

Composer Páll Ragnar Pálsson builds on Ólafur’s mirror sculpture of the same title which consists of three free standing round mirrors which form a tunnel. Depending on from where the audience looks into the tunnel, their perception of themselves and their surroundings changes. Páll Ragnar Pálsson’s composition centers upon the same theme as Ólafur’s sculpture, which was first created for Ólafur Elíasson's exhibition in Martin Gropius Bau in Berlin. The music converses with the sculpture since musical objects mirror each other and move between the instrumentalists within the space. During the performance the members of Skark Ensemble will be spread around the space, inviting the audience to move around and to explore how their visual and auditory perception changes as they move among the instrumentalists in and around the mirror tunnel. The collaboration between the three parties began when Skark Ensemble performed a piece by Páll Ragnar Pálsson at Ólafur Elíasson’s studio in Berlin during the state visit of the Icelandic president in 2013.

Ólafur Elíason's Spiegeltunnel will be exhibited in NEW RELEASE Exhibition in Gerðarsafn - Kópavogur Art Museum. 

Courtesy of the artist; neugerriemschneider, Berlin; Tanya Bonakdar Gallery, New York; and i8 Gallery, Reykjavik.